Europe (EU)

The European Union is the political entity, with a supranational and intergovernmental character, which includes 27 countries of the European continent as independent and democratic members.

The birth of the European Union dates back to 1992, with the Maastricht Treaty (in force since November 1, 1993) to which, subsequently, other states were added in addition to those present in the so-called birth certificate.

The Union currently consists of a free market area (known as a municipality) characterized by the circulation of the single currency.

The Euro, regulated by the policies of the European Central Bank, is the currency adopted by 17 of the 27 members of the European Union, which make up the Euro Zone, sometimes also called the Eurozone or Euroland.

The Member States of the Euro Zone are: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain.

Europe (EU), ultimi articoli su International

Europe’s real tourist trap

Financial Times

15 June 2024 - 16:31

Europe's real tourist trap

The continent gets too much attention from the world to recognise its irrelevance.

Why Russian gas is still a problem for Europe

13 June 2024 - 17:00

Why Russian gas is still a problem for Europe

Russian gas is a resource and a threat to Europe, as highlighted by the story of the transit of fuel from Russia to our continent via Ukraine. What’s about to happen?

IMF Sees A Soft Landing For Europe, But In Crosswinds

James Hydzik

17 May 2024 - 19:32

IMF Sees A Soft Landing For Europe, But In Crosswinds

It’s the IMF’s imagery. Behind it, though, are real concerns about persistent core inflation in Central, Eastern, and Southeastern Europe. And then there are teh structural issues.